Dusti Johnson's Poker Progess Blog  

RSS

dustijohnson
(@dustijohnson)
April 26, 2017 11:34 pm  

Micro Stakes Blog

Introduction:

Hi, my name is Dusti Johnson. I am relatively new to poker. I have friends that like to play small tournaments at their houses but I never went. I never knew much about poker other than the hand rankings and that you can check, raise, or fold. I have always wanted to learn how to be a good poker player but never actually set out to do so.  Something triggered me this month and I decided I want to be a profitable poker player that can win online micro stakes and small cash games and tournaments with my friends. Currently, I am a college student studying finance. I want to be an analyst and trade in the stock and futures market. I dabble in forex with play money and have spent the past year learning trading strategies and psychologies.

I just started the Crush Micro Stakes Online Poker course and plan to track my progress as I work through it and apply what I learn to my actual game. In this blog, I plan on tracking and providing my monthly and overall results along with any hand history reviews I do. Rather than set a goal based on results (like having a +xx/100) I want to focus on making +EV decisions and little to no mistakes in each session. I would like to create a plan of how many games to play a week and for how long to play each game, but with school and finals approaching I find it hard to do that just yet. May will be a busy month for me, but towards the end of May and beginning of June I will write down a specific goal and schedule that covers what nights I will study poker, what nights I will play poker, and when I will do my hand history reviews. I will be tracking my progress here the whole time and by the end of the year I will be a profitable poker player.