How to deal with impatience and anxiety at the table.  

RSS

leverettjl
(@leverettjl)
September 29, 2017 1:50 pm  

I started playing poker about a month ago, mainly 5 and 10NL cash games on Ignition and BCP.  I've taken a few of your courses, and think I understand the concepts you laid out for us pretty well, at least on an intellectual level.  The problem is that I usually have to wait a long time during my sessions for a decent opportunity to be very active in a hand.  This really gets to me psychologically, especially when I'm running badly and can't even win smaller hands, and all your lessons seem to fly out the window when this happens.  And sometimes this causes me to tilt, which makes matters even worse.  I'm having a hard time implementing what I know because I lose control like this.  Do you have any mental game strategies or other tips on how to stay mentally balanced when waiting for the right spots to play in?  

ReplyQuote
crance99
(@crance99)
Eminent Member
October 1, 2017 10:49 pm  

If you having some control and tilt problems, i would read The Mental Game Of Poker by Jared Tendler. I'm in the process of putting his logic into my game and i instantly saw the results of me not tilting as much. His book can be overwhelming but just start reading and pick out little thing to slowly stop your tilt. I would recommend his audio book. It is my first audio book and i find it so much easier for this type of material to listen in bed or while driving to work. 

ReplyQuote
Alton - MicroGrinder Poker
(@microgrinder)
Member Admin
October 2, 2017 4:41 am